Advice on Inspections - REO Property Preservation Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 751
Thanks: 123
Thanked 504 Times in 253 Posts
Advice on Inspections

So here is the email I got...

"We have a new client, who is expecting a high volume of inspections in a concentrated area, and we’re reaching out to our inspectors for capacity and pricing information. Our new client will be offering 2 tiers of inspections:

- Drive-by (photos taken from your car or the street) The cost will be between $7.00 to $10.00. You need to choose $$$ amount?

- Field (Full Interior and Exterior photos, including any discrepancies) The cost will be between $11.00 to $14.00. You need to choose $$$ amount?

On average, how many inspection would you be able to complete in 1- day?"

I have no experience with these types of inspections. I am however, the bane of the inital services crews I follow.

I rarely miss anything and have been known to send in 233 pictures of what was not done during the initial services. I report or I fix it for free and I am not going to fix it for free.

My thoughts are that these could be profitable if I mix a few of them in with my route each day. This way I am not driving out of my way. A few of these each day would just about cover my daily fuel costs.

So how hard are they? I have been told they are between 5 and 15 pictures each inspection depending on the type of inspection.

Your thoughts and advice please.
Gypsos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 580
Thanks: 3
Thanked 135 Times in 80 Posts
Please PM me and I can give you the lowdown on these. Not that I am saying they are good but I can give you a realistic idea. I forget but what state are you in?
HollandPPC is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
BPWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MT
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 1,470
Thanked 774 Times in 468 Posts
I won't touch them for less than 20.

By the time you print the w/o, plan your route, drive out of your way even a couple miles, do the inspection
buy your camera and batteries, drive to your next job and then do the upload.................. even 20
doesn't sound like nearly enough.


If you are like me you never take JUST 5 to 15 pics.


In my opinion there simply is no money in doing them for their prices, heck in my opinion you are going
backwards at their pricing!

Professionals are people who can do their job when they don't feel like it.
Amateurs are people that can't do their job even when they do feel like it.
BPWY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 847
Thanks: 664
Thanked 247 Times in 151 Posts
Smells FISHY to me! Do your homework! Not many ask you what you would like to get paid.

JDRM is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:52 PM
Super Moderator
 
GTX63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Your House Soon...Soon
Posts: 3,186
Thanks: 676
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,094 Posts
I'll post an answer I gave on another thread. Nationals would rather you ignore how much money it breaks down to per hour. They would rather you look at it as how much you can make a day.
GTX63 is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 10:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I used to do bpo, occupancy verification, etc, and never got less than 15, and that was from a company that didn't pay more than 35 for a wint
Omega is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 78 Times in 51 Posts
re

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTX63 View Post
I'll post an answer I gave on another thread. Nationals would rather you ignore how much money it breaks down to per hour. They would rather you look at it as how much you can make a day.
That is how you should always look at it as an independent contractor. I would even go further to how much you make per week/month.

If you make $40 in your first half of the day but $500 in the second half all that matters is that you made $540 for a days work. Most of my days are like this, I rarely make money before noon.
nurumkin is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 69
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
I was offered those prices once, just not in my business model for that price. Seems I would be taking on more work in hopes I could make a little in a perfect world. But the real world I live in thought one return to property request would blow the whole profit for the day. I never even responded back to them.
idaho is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
STARBABY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: kentucky
Posts: 681
Thanks: 582
Thanked 197 Times in 137 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gypsos View Post
So here is the email I got...

"We have a new client, who is expecting a high volume of inspections in a concentrated area, and we’re reaching out to our inspectors for capacity and pricing information. Our new client will be offering 2 tiers of inspections:

- Drive-by (photos taken from your car or the street) The cost will be between $7.00 to $10.00. You need to choose $$$ amount?

- Field (Full Interior and Exterior photos, including any discrepancies) The cost will be between $11.00 to $14.00. You need to choose $$$ amount?

On average, how many inspection would you be able to complete in 1- day?"

I have no experience with these types of inspections. I am however, the bane of the inital services crews I follow.

I rarely miss anything and have been known to send in 233 pictures of what was not done during the initial services. I report or I fix it for free and I am not going to fix it for free.

My thoughts are that these could be profitable if I mix a few of them in with my route each day. This way I am not driving out of my way. A few of these each day would just about cover my daily fuel costs.

So how hard are they? I have been told they are between 5 and 15 pictures each inspection depending on the type of inspection.

Your thoughts and advice please.


Just can`t see how anybody can make money doing this! after all your cost you might as weel send them a check and sit at home.
STARBABY is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 12:25 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
Drive by inspections are not the norm. They really require lots of contact and meter pics. The bac delinquent interviews via msc are a joke. The miles between inspections eat up what little profit there is.

They usually cut the pay rates after a while too. I have not found a way to make money on occupancy checks and I've been trying. Its a dead end as far as I can tell. The only ones who profit are the middlemen.
SagesServices is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SagesServices For This Useful Post:
Dnmceo17 (11-01-2012)
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the REO Property Preservation Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome