sg inspections - REO Property Preservation Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-19-2013, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
whydontigetit
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Thanks: 10
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
sg inspections

Contacted by safeguard for inspections anyone got a price they pay or volumn i guess my your crazy on gc rates sent me to another department
mike2153 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 04:30 AM
Contractor
 
JFMURFY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 486
Thanks: 81
Thanked 151 Times in 79 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike2153 View Post
Contacted by safeguard for inspections anyone got a price they pay or volumn i guess my your crazy on gc rates sent me to another department
Performed inspections for them a couple of years ago... pay was less than $5 per in urban areas and it was a nightmare input and the photo's were a nightmare..we let them go.
JFMURFY is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 12:25 PM
Business Consultant
 
Cleanupman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Silver Springs, Nevada
Posts: 1,380
Thanks: 322
Thanked 564 Times in 339 Posts
I'm not hearing any good numbers for inspections with SG....$3.50 etc...

Aladay LLC
Property Preservation
New Business Consultant
Custom Glass&Wood
Cleanupman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 03:19 PM
npm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 125
Thanks: 44
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Last I heard in PA area was $3.00 per inspection and you can be back charged if submitted late. A few inspectors I've talk to that due them want to drop them for inspections.
npm is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 124
Thanks: 78
Thanked 41 Times in 29 Posts
$3 in the DFW metro area ..... it all comes with promises of high volume but no matter which way you slice it you can't come out with a profit. The majority of your volume comes at the same time of the month so you can't possibly complete them all yourself, how can you sub at $3 a pop? You'll also start out with a cap where it's impossible to make profit your first few months.
They do have an app to use now where you enter info and pics from your phone whle you're on site. It's nice, this eliminates any update time on the computer.
ontimepres is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 78 Times in 51 Posts
re

Quote:
Originally Posted by npm View Post
Last I heard in PA area was $3.00 per inspection and you can be back charged if submitted late. A few inspectors I've talk to that due them want to drop them for inspections.
I think it would be hard to make a profit at $3 anything regardless of volume. For $3 you get approx 2 min of my attention tops, now if you want to pay me $3 to google earth it and shoot back an email saying "yup there is a house there" lets talk.
nurumkin is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
STARBABY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: kentucky
Posts: 681
Thanks: 582
Thanked 197 Times in 137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nurumkin View Post
I think it would be hard to make a profit at $3 anything regardless of volume. For $3 you get approx 2 min of my attention tops, now if you want to pay me $3 to google earth it and shoot back an email saying "yup there is a house there" lets talk.

agree, I turn down $15 inspections. Not sure WHY anyone would work for $3!
STARBABY is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-20-2013, 08:35 PM
npm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 125
Thanks: 44
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Exactly I have 2 employees on staff for inspections they each average 40 per day. We charge more then $3.00. I would need them to twice as many. The only reason we do them because its like a double edge sword to our preservation side. Also it pays faster then preservation.
npm is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-21-2013, 10:40 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
I quit doing inspections. I figure that I need to average $20 per to make a profit. When I was doing them, I couldn't pay myself minum wage and maintain a car. Now add in the proper insurance that you should have on your car and to cover general business liability and you are paying them to work.

I did rural and city, I lost money on the rural inspections every day. Last year I did about 50,000 miles. I haven't finished my taxes yet but, I know I earned less than .36 per mile and I was not insured properly.

When I do commercial inspections for freelance, I get .70 per mile with a $150.00 minum. Its not steady though. My last inspection on some construction equipment was two months ago.... It's been a very slow winter. But, inspecting commercial stuff for liability or doing pre-purchase inspections pays $200 plus per job and its low stress. Just need to get qualified for what you want to inspect. Things like weld inspectors are kinda steady. Companies need their vendor shops checked on for QC before large items are shipped to avoid schedule nightmares. Sometimes they just want to know if the shop has the correct material on site to make their item. Many times I've seen material paid for that was supposedly in production actually not even onsite.

Look for skilled inspection work, mortgage inspections are a deadend.
SagesServices is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to SagesServices For This Useful Post:
68W30 (01-21-2013)
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-22-2013, 06:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
GTX63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Your House Soon...Soon
Posts: 3,186
Thanks: 676
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,094 Posts
Safeguard will quote between $3 and $7 per inspection and they do not allow you to do a driveby. You park, get out and take a street pic, a frt and side pic, a reason to confirm occupancy and and address at the minimum. The inspections usually come in twice a month in bulk and they may be due the day they send them if someone on their end dropped the ball. The promise of volume is a puff of smoke. They cannot put that in writing and hope your a sucker and fall for the line. The guy that promised you that will then cease to exist.
GTX63 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the REO Property Preservation Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome