Field inspections? - REO Property Preservation Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Field inspections?

I've been doing research on different real estate jobs and I stumbled upon real estate field inspections. It seems to be very simple. I saw that the pay is usually around $15-$30 per inspection, which can add up if you get enough. I was wondering how I could go about getting into this field? Can I start up on my own? Who do I contact for work? Do I have to be a sub-contractor for another field service company? Do any of you guys have any experience in this field?

Thanks!
Clevelander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 05:00 PM
How I wanna be a PP Pro
 
Wannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,103
Thanks: 232
Thanked 1,277 Times in 562 Posts
Yes when I did Real estate inspections on foreclosed properties we invoiced up to $150 per property. It started the pricing decent to 75-100 per property and we started our escape. I heard that it's even went FURTHER downhill!

private party house inspections are $350 and up.

I've heard that foreclosed inspections are now paying upwards of $2.50-$5.00.
Wannabe is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wannabe For This Useful Post:
mtmtnman (08-14-2015), thanohano44 (08-28-2015)
post #3 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
safeguard dropout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Midwest
Posts: 629
Thanks: 410
Thanked 406 Times in 233 Posts
I can confirm $2.50-$5.00. I was contacted yesterday by a regional offering $6.
I kinda chuckled, then a bit more, then I couldn't stop laughing. He told me it was a good deal and I should take it because in places like Chicago it's $2-$3. I asked him how the hell he can sell that with a straight face.......click.
safeguard dropout is offline  
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to safeguard dropout For This Useful Post:
Coos-NH (08-15-2015), cover2 (08-13-2015), JoeInPI (08-15-2015), mtmtnman (08-14-2015), STARBABY (03-24-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-14-2015, 01:22 AM
G 3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 210
Thanks: 255
Thanked 145 Times in 85 Posts
I've done vacancy inspections and property damage inspections, and stopped when the crap dropped below $25 a job. Just got a call about a month ago from a group from Illinois telling me that they have over 300 inspections a month for me, and would be willing to let me do them for $3 a piece. When I asked if they paid for gas, oil, and insurance, I was told that I would more than make up for that with... volume.

I told them to pay for the insurance, gas, and lunch, and I'll pay for the oil. I got the customary "... Whaaaa?", then hung up. Not for me. Someone else out there who really wants the "Job" can have it.
G 3 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to G 3 For This Useful Post:
Preservation Dude (09-17-2015)
post #5 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-14-2015, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 666
Thanks: 124
Thanked 336 Times in 182 Posts
I have not been able to make those numbers work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clevelander View Post
I've been doing research on different real estate jobs and I stumbled upon real estate field inspections. It seems to be very simple. I saw that the pay is usually around $15-$30 per inspection, which can add up if you get enough. I was wondering how I could go about getting into this field? Can I start up on my own? Who do I contact for work? Do I have to be a sub-contractor for another field service company? Do any of you guys have any experience in this field?

Thanks!
The issue with the numbers is: The inspections never seen to come out in any logical order, geographically and chronologically. It is always two orders over here, one order over there, you get the picture. Doing QC's or PCR's for $20 or so could be profitable if the companies cared even a little bit about it, but they don't. If you can't pull in at least between $2-3 a mile, it doesn't work.
Ohnojim is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Ohnojim For This Useful Post:
Preservation Dude (09-17-2015)
post #6 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 70 Times in 56 Posts
I've been doing occupancy inspections here since 2007. I own my own company and cover a portion of my state. The main issue is the due dates. Rushes come in randomly, inspections are due mostly in 5 days which is fair, but in this industry weekends count as days. They don't care if we have time with out families, they expect us to work 24/7 while their offices are open 9-5 M-F. Ok, so with that being said 300 inspections may not seem like a lot, especially at $3 ea, which is the going inspector rate. The regional receiving them is paying $5-6. In all reality most of these properties are occupied. So pull up, a few quick pictures with your camera from inside the car, then pull away. Any company that requires a photo of a call back card, I either tell them that I need $15-20 so I can pay my inspectors $10 to get out of the car, or I tell them no thanks. This industry expects you to get out of the car every time, but in reality it isn't possible. My inspectors are currently making $4-5k monthly full time minus expenses. They key is to find 4-5 of those companies offering 300 inspections each.
madxtreme01 is offline  
post #7 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
safeguard dropout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Midwest
Posts: 629
Thanks: 410
Thanked 406 Times in 233 Posts
5 grand a month working 6 days a week, $3 per inspection.....277 inspections a day. Did I calculate that right?
safeguard dropout is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to safeguard dropout For This Useful Post:
ILInspector (08-25-2015), STARBABY (03-24-2016)
post #8 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
safeguard dropout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Midwest
Posts: 629
Thanks: 410
Thanked 406 Times in 233 Posts
OR, screw the family and friends and work all 7 day of the week and you only have to do 238 inspections per day...to make 5k.....minus fuel, insurance, wear and tear....did someone say McDonalds?
safeguard dropout is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to safeguard dropout For This Useful Post:
PPPrincessNOT (08-25-2015)
post #9 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 07:03 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lake County Illinois
Posts: 9
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
I see Craigslist ads all the time stating "our inspectors are earning over $20-30 per hour", getting paid $3 per inspection. That's just flat out bullchit. The forms that you are required to fill out with one of those $3 inspections also takes 10 - 15 minutes by the time you have uploaded all the pics, relabeled them, and checked off all the dumbass questions. Sorry, but there is no way in hell anyone is making $20 - 30 bucks per hour unless you only are covering the west side of Chicago.
ILInspector is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ILInspector For This Useful Post:
safeguard dropout (08-25-2015)
post #10 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 70 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by safeguard dropout View Post
5 grand a month working 6 days a week, $3 per inspection.....277 inspections a day. Did I calculate that right?

your calculations are wrong...you forgot a step.....$5k a month divided by 20 days a month (I do not require my inspectors to work weekends) equals $250/day divided by $3 per inspection is 84 inspections per day...... I said it was full time. Some inspectors do a 4-5 hour route and go home after 50 inspections. It all depends on the work load and area. Some towns have 100 inspections while others have 3, so drive time is a huge factor. I have a girl that works for me that consistantly does a minimum of 70 houses a day, leaves at 8 and is home by 3, uploads in EZinspections and it takes her about 1 and a half hours to complete. Your handle is safeguard dropout, so I'm assuming your experience is with them, their software is a nightmare. Ezinspections streamlines everything to make it simple. Although I feel that Trakscape is better, our suppliers want us to use EZ
madxtreme01 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to madxtreme01 For This Useful Post:
CALIGIRL2 (06-09-2016)
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the REO Property Preservation Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome