The dreaded 3 dollar inspection - REO Property Preservation Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-21-2015, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: DE
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The dreaded 3 dollar inspection

I've been in the business for a few years now doing insurance/bank REO inspections. I make a pretty decent living and employ a team of 5 inspectors. I get a call from a national yesterday offering me 2,000 inspections a month for a zip code at the circus popcorn and hot dog rate of 3 bucks a pop? Is this what the industry is turning into now? Full walk through and 25 pics for 3 bucks? Wow.
Preservationpete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-21-2015, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 70 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preservationpete View Post
I've been in the business for a few years now doing insurance/bank REO inspections. I make a pretty decent living and employ a team of 5 inspectors. I get a call from a national yesterday offering me 2,000 inspections a month for a zip code at the circus popcorn and hot dog rate of 3 bucks a pop? Is this what the industry is turning into now? Full walk through and 25 pics for 3 bucks? Wow.

sounds like safeguard to me.... I also did some work for a company out of California for a few months that offered the same.
madxtreme01 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-22-2015, 08:31 AM
Super Moderator
 
PropPresPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Big Sky Country
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 423
Thanked 929 Times in 465 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preservationpete View Post
I've been in the business for a few years now doing insurance/bank REO inspections. I make a pretty decent living and employ a team of 5 inspectors. I get a call from a national yesterday offering me 2,000 inspections a month for a zip code at the circus popcorn and hot dog rate of 3 bucks a pop? Is this what the industry is turning into now? Full walk through and 25 pics for 3 bucks? Wow.
Sad thing is, that pricing is not new. There have been people accepting that rate for multiple years - true they aren't around to tell you about it now. There's a reason why these companies can call you up and ask you to do those inspections for $3 without lol, it's called practice. They've asked the same question of so many people and even had some accept the offer that even they start to think their offer is a legitimate one.

Iíve already told you more than I know.
PropPresPro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-22-2015, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 666
Thanks: 124
Thanked 336 Times in 182 Posts
I operate pretty efficiently.

I could not make money at $20-30 for walk through inspections, and maintain any degree of accuracy. The $3 thing might as well be zero. I mean if you want to make $10-15 an hour, there are far better jobs out there, with benefits and no worries.
Ohnojim is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ohnojim For This Useful Post:
Craigslist Hack (10-22-2015), mtmtnman (10-23-2015)
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-22-2015, 10:26 AM
G 3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 210
Thanks: 255
Thanked 145 Times in 85 Posts
There's also a company out of Illinois (Can't remember the name right now) that contacted me about 2 years ago telling me the same crap - I can get you over 1500 inspections a month and you can make $4500. When I told them that the fee is only $3, they said that I would get a ton of jobs. Volume means profit. When I asked them who pays for my gas, insurance, and wear and tear on my vehicle, they said that they don't do that. They offer volu... That's where I just hung up.
G 3 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to G 3 For This Useful Post:
PPPrincessNOT (10-22-2015)
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-22-2015, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: DE
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Yeah I think that pricing sets you up for failure.tons of volume means lots of back end uploading work. And if an inspector has to get out of the car at every stop, you will never make quota, and lose in the end.
Preservationpete is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the REO Property Preservation Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome