For those doin inspections...... - REO Property Preservation Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,403
Thanks: 1,518
Thanked 533 Times in 287 Posts
For those doin inspections......

More added to your plate for the $5-$10 you get LOL! http://www.housingwire.com/articles/...spection-forms
mtmtnman is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtmtnman For This Useful Post:
JoeInPI (11-22-2015), SJPI (12-16-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeInPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 340
Thanks: 499
Thanked 200 Times in 113 Posts
"Compensation has been based on these basic factors."

For what they want inspections done for, it should only require you to slow down to 25mph on your way by the house.

They're worried about being able to provide structural issues, etc? Like an actual inspection that I would provide to my customers? If that's the case, and they want E&O, etc., they're not going to be getting any of it for anything near where they pay. Unbelievable. I still shake my head every day when the building industry is seemingly SO regulated, and the P&P industry is so wide open- and they wonder why they have issues?
JoeInPI is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 08:47 PM
How I wanna be a PP Pro
 
Wannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,103
Thanks: 232
Thanked 1,277 Times in 562 Posts
ALL Inspections should be done by a licensed/certified Inspector PERIOD.
Wannabe is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wannabe For This Useful Post:
All Island Handy (11-24-2015), thanohano44 (12-05-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 70 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe View Post
ALL Inspections should be done by a licensed/certified Inspector PERIOD.


good luck on that one, who's paying for this?
madxtreme01 is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 127
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by madxtreme01 View Post
good luck on that one, who's paying for this?
Madxtreme you need to figure out how to understand whats happening here.

The end result will be people not understanding being recipients of the donkey punch,

Your attitude leads me to believe that maybe, just maybe you are excited to receive the donkey punch
AceVentura is offline  
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to AceVentura For This Useful Post:
All Island Handy (11-24-2015), BRADSConst (11-23-2015), Craigslist Hack (11-23-2015), G 3 (11-23-2015), JoeInPI (11-23-2015), mtmtnman (11-23-2015), PPPrincessNOT (11-23-2015), safeguard dropout (11-23-2015), Wannabe (11-23-2015)
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 457
Thanks: 2
Thanked 70 Times in 56 Posts
no, I don't think it is as simple as that. These inspections are done monthly. To perform that thorough of an inspection on a monthly basis is impossible. Send a preservation crew out to do it correctly and then an inspector to see if it visually got worse. Visual inspections can't be held liable for underlying issues.
madxtreme01 is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-23-2015, 11:36 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeInPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 340
Thanks: 499
Thanked 200 Times in 113 Posts
These nationals/regionals WANT a P&P vendor held responsible for ANY issue with the house whether or not they are licensed inspectors or not. Not always because they want to screw someone, but ALWAYS because they do not want to be left holding the bag.

I don't think it is cost effective to have a licensed inspector do a monthly inspection either, but if they are going to hold someone financially liable for the inspection they make, they need to have inspectors who know what to look for do them, not a dude with a flashlight on his phone. The issue is, the nationals and regionals especially- are more interested in shifting the blame off themselves than actually having a meaningful inspection done. The meaningful inspection should be the first inspection before anyone else messes around in the house.

This inspection thing is one aspect of this industry that really needs attention. You can't have Flashlight Dude do a walk through, then have a licensed inspector do another inspection before closing, then hold Flashlight Dude responsible for all of the stuff he didn't even know what to look for. It isn't really ethical in my mind, and it's not even necessary in most cases. The problem could resolve itself in most cases if there was a meaningful licensed inspection done at teh inception of the P&P process. Unfortunately, for the prices they pay, Flashlight Dude is the only guy that will do them. I won't touch them- I have too much time and money tied up in obtaining certification in a state that doesn't even require it. (Michigan)

If whomever was running the freaking show really cared about the homeowners or the houses, nothing in this industry would work like it does right now, but we all know that.
JoeInPI is offline  
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to JoeInPI For This Useful Post:
BRADSConst (11-24-2015), GTX63 (11-24-2015), mtmtnman (11-24-2015), PPPrincessNOT (11-24-2015), safeguard dropout (11-24-2015)
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 08:38 AM
How I wanna be a PP Pro
 
Wannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,103
Thanks: 232
Thanked 1,277 Times in 562 Posts
Joe,

Spot on! I have a $350 inspection today at 10am in a foreclosed home for the buyer. The National has asked to purchase the Inspection Report from me (I will need permission from buyer since I will be working for them). I wonder why they want to purchase?

I think we know that answer.
Wannabe is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Wannabe For This Useful Post:
JoeInPI (11-24-2015), mtmtnman (11-24-2015), safeguard dropout (11-24-2015), thanohano44 (12-05-2015)
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
safeguard dropout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Midwest
Posts: 629
Thanks: 410
Thanked 406 Times in 233 Posts
Wow. That is some crooked crap.

I have absolutely 0 knowledge of the inspection side of the business so maybe a couple dumb questions...

How does the national get the name of the company doing the final inspection if you are working for the homeowner?

How much is Flashlight Dude liable for? Say he misses something simple like a small roof leak? Something major like structural damage? Does the national then go after Flashlight Dude's E&O insurance? Who's pocket would the E&O money eventually wind up in?
safeguard dropout is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-24-2015, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,403
Thanks: 1,518
Thanked 533 Times in 287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by safeguard dropout View Post
Wow. That is some crooked crap.

I have absolutely 0 knowledge of the inspection side of the business so maybe a couple dumb questions...

How does the national get the name of the company doing the final inspection if you are working for the homeowner?

How much is Flashlight Dude liable for? Say he misses something simple like a small roof leak? Something major like structural damage? Does the national then go after Flashlight Dude's E&O insurance? Who's pocket would the E&O money eventually wind up in?

Wannabe, Tell the story about the deck collapse......
mtmtnman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the REO Property Preservation Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome