REO Property Preservation Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondered if anyone else has ran into the situations we have the last few months and how they handled it. I have been doing debris removal at properties for 18 years. First for individuals and now for the last 11 years doing property preservation for companies. In all this time, I have never ran into human remains being left in the properties. In the last 6 months I have had two properties where the family remains have been left. The first, the national company we were doing the work for. I had us leave them in the urn in the house and contacted the previous owners and had them come back and remove them. This time the trashout is for an individual who is not a family member and I wondered if anyone knows the legal, proper procedure to take if the family will not claim them. So far it's all been creamated ashes. There are two in this house. I hope this isn't a sign of whats to come. Up until this year I always joked we had found everything in houses except for a dead body. Can't say that anymore.

L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
A call to the local crematorium may shed some light on the situation.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If not the crematorium, you may try the local Sheriffs office as well.

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Had this a few times unfortunately. Call the sheriffs office ...they will normally refer you to the coroner's office. DO not dispose. I do have to admit that a crew kinda "knocked over" a vase once....
WTH is this one guy asked? After we told him he left.

Kinda freaky leaving Uncle John or Aunt Susie behind!

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sooner or later, if you do any inner city work especially, you will find a body. You will know as soon as you enter the home normally. You will never forget. The smell, The going to the police station, the fingerprints ..

The entire experience is sad and surreal.