REO Property Preservation Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Contractor
486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of ya'll have been estimating construction work. Me.. I've been estimating for over 20 years in the construction trades everything from small clean-outs to the $125 million Deutsche Bank demo in NYC.

I'm getting very short tempered when National desk jockey's deny my bid saying...that is not within our "Standard Pricing" or "Are you sure... I don't see that in the photo's". I get to thinking...Am I losing my mind here. :blink:

When they shoot back their denial of my bid... an tell me where I should be... I find myself going over the particulars again...wasting time, and coming up with the same figures. Then I get hacked-off an email them back an request a price breakdown of their price...of course I never get it... an it's beginning to drive me mad.

Any words of wisdom from the learned ones.

G

·
Give up is my best advise. I know your frustration and decided to move "on down the road". It doesn't matter what estimating software you use (Xactimate, Simsol, Craftsman Blue Book) since they will not hear anything that doesn't fit "their pricing parameters".

If you are "GOOD" at estimating than you can "write your own" ticket in the real world. I know guys that are begging for good estimators that can use any of the above named software programs.

·
Contractor
486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
FremontREO said:
Give up is my best advise. I know your frustration and decided to move "on down the road". It doesn't matter what estimating software you use (Xactimate, Simsol, Craftsman Blue Book) since they will not hear anything that doesn't fit "their pricing parameters".

If you are "GOOD" at estimating than you can "write your own" ticket in the real world. I know guys that are begging for good estimators that can use any of the above named software programs.