REO Property Preservation Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a small time contractor in WNY. Over the summer, I took on the $30 safeguard grasscuts in my area.

I subbed them out to a local guy at $20 a lawn..he got lots more on most of them as they were "over a foot".

However, he quit doing the work in early July when he realized he was not making enough money.

He then got another job and worked until recently.

He has now filed an unemployment claim, and is claiming that I misclassified him as an independent contractor instead of an employee.

I'd get hit with a "penalty" of sorts..having to pay all the pack taxes..prolly end up being $1500 or so.

Has anyone been through this before? What is the best way to prove to NYS unemployment that he was indeed an independent contractor and not an employee, so that I am not stuck with a bill?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

·
Registered
232 Posts
Did he have a Business Name?
Did you pay him by check in that Business name?
Did he provide you an invoice with his Business name?
Did you send him a 1099 Form at the end of January in his Business name?
If you answered no to these, then well I don't have anything else for ya.
If yes is the answer to these questions than he's screwed and your not.

·
Business Consultant
Media, Investigative Journalism, Business Consultant
1,408 Posts
This is waht the UEID people are going to ask.
We had this happen...
we used a contract we signed with a national...removed their name inserted ours...still was no good.
It ended up costing us 61k...yes 61 thousand in back taxes and UEID fees....
Try to deal with UEID so other agencies do not get involved...
WARNING.........................I'm hearing a lot of scuttlebutt that the IRS will be performing audits this year on small business to see if they are using IC's correctly or are they an employee.....

What ever you do do not tell that there was/is the following
time lines
training